"Blind Dating" by Kerry Taylor

FREE Kindle Edition 2-3 April
Blind Dating
by Kerry Taylor
This book has been newly re-edited and formatted.

Description
A light-hearted, funny romantic comedy – perfect for fans of Hilary Boyd, Christina Lauren, Lindsey Kelk, Deborah Cooke, Claire Cross, and Jill Mansell.
When mid-forties, divorced, single-mother-of-three, Kimberly, realizes her own mother has more of a life than she does, she decides to do something about it. Encouraged by success stories from people at work, she joins a dating chat room, ICQ, which starts to rock her world.
All of a sudden she’s a swinging single, online, with extreme dates, a little dirty talk, and a sense of her new, sexy self— until that fateful moment when her long-time chat-room buddy, LonelySingle, wants to meet.
“Are you trying to find a man on Facelook?” her Mom questions, after years of being told it is Facebook!
What if he doesn’t like her?
What if she doesn’t like him?
These are the thoughts, inside her head. Until they meet and realise, that they have been friends offline as well as online!
What happens next?
A light-hearted, romantic comedy about a single mom finding true love, which was right before her eyes.
Excerpt
“Auntie Christine said, ‘Just ask all the girls, and the boys will be jealous, and when they hear that you are having parties with only girls, and that each girl in your year is your friend, they will stop bullying you’.”

“Wow,” I said.  Are they that fickle? I thought in my mind.

Nevermind, Kimberley, you worry too much, and at that precise moment, guess who walks through the door? Tom, with my maid of honour, Julie.  I try and smile, thinking, It is for Eric—it is his party.  Do not cause a scene. 

Christine walks over to me and hands me an alcoholic punch which she sharply shoves into my hand and says, “Drink it now!”

While she was making it, she saw my frown and said it is only for special parents, not everyone would get some.  As I look around, I wonder how she distinguished between the special parents and the non-special parents, because it looks like everyone has had some.

I finish it with one sharp gulp.  I start to enjoy the party.  The children are enjoying themselves.  More importantly, so is Eric.  He is really enjoying his party, especially with one little girl in the corner.  I tear them apart.

I’m not ready to be a grandmother yet, and my mom is by no means ready to be a great-grandmother.  She refers to them, but that does not mean she wants to join that club.

It seems like Auntie Christine was right because Eric was never bullied again.
Review
I must say that I originally approached this book with trepidation as I wasn’t sure what to expect based on the previous reviews I read. I’m not entire sure what the other reviewers were expecting but I went into this without any expectations. I was pleasantly surprised and I liked the book. The book focuses on Kimberly who is a divorced mother of three who is stuck in a rut. Her mother suggests looking online to find a decent man and that is where the story gets a little topsy-turvy which I felt had its funny moments.
About the Author
Kerry Taylor is a single mother of three children, currently living in Madrid. She has been through a lot in her life – from being stalked and abused, to being separated from her estranged husband – all while expressing her life through writing in different forms.

She have released a series of autobiographies in the form of short stories and poetry in the books Stones of My HeartLife’s PebblesEmotional Rollercoaster of a Single Mom, and Gravel of Moments.

Kerry has recently written a series of romantic comedies: Blind Dating and Fly, Pray, Love, Money Can’t Buy Me Love: Money Can Buy Me Love, and She Said, He Said. She is currently working on the four-part series, Nearly Natal.
Author Links
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: